Strings, strings, strings, strings

Standard

I made string art! Woo hoo! It’s so pretty and I lurrrve it.

Here’s how I did it.

You need:

  • nails (small nails)
  • canvas
  • cork board (I used a bulletin board)
  • cardboard
  • hammer
  • glue
  • string
  • paint (optional)
  • I painted my canvas brown and gold to make it look like a piece of wood because my design that I wanted to make was a sailboat and I thought it would look nice against the brown since I chose to do my design in blue and white.
  • Arrange your nails in the design you want to create. I forgot to take a photo of this part because while I was doing it I realized that the canvas was way too thin to hold the nails in place.
  • I then glued cardboard to a bulletin board I had around to create a thicker canvas. I knocked off the frame and then cut the board combo to fit inside of my canvas.

  • I used craft glue and glued the combo to the canvas once I was sure it fit and placed some heavy books on it to let it dry.
  • Then I re-did all the nails, haha. Then start stringing! Tie a knot around one of the nails and just go. With the blue string, I didn’t have a pattern I was following on the body, but I did try to create a mast. With the white string, I was trying to make it look like sails, so I had a pre-planned pattern. Tie off the string when you’re done. Total, mine is made only from 3 strings (They’re just really long!) For instance, there is one continuous white string used and two blue.

This is in our bedroom, but I plan on keeping it as long as it lasts and making more! It wasn’t too difficult and I could make so many other patterns.

 

Also, the title of this post is from Blink 182’s song “Strings” – Check it out

And just for fun, this string quartet performed “What’s My Age Again” and it’s aaammmaaaazing, so you should listen to it

Leave a Reply

